Is Gracious

“No I don’t want to be your cigarette. Use me up then toss me, step on me.”

        – Kali Uchis

I lay in the dark with my eyes open. Painting my world black. 

Black sun, black skies, and black objects. Beauty , something I never heard. 

No pillows, no blankets, no air. Just pitch black. And I dream with my eyes open. 

Dreaming of a world where happiness isn’t a fairy tail ending. 

The land, is made of hope. 

The tress, made of smiles. 

“Ever After” is just a continuation to my novel. 

When I broke my ribs for you. Gave them to you as staircases to your aspirations. Did you care? 

When I gave you my eyes on a silver platter with my heart as an appetizer. . . Did you care?

Do you care? 

Keep asking myself if you ever cared?

If you ever listened?

If you ever read the poetry that characterized you?

If you cared enough to read the text that finalized you?

Thought I could be apart of you.

Make the one with my favorite color eyes paralyze with that smile that I keep to myself to fantasize a dream that will never come true. 

And I ask you this question. 

“Am I the heart you ran through?”

Leave a comment